Thread: communion
View Single Post
Old 20th January 2013, 09:36 PM
Ron Conte Ron Conte is offline
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 12,628

emhCs must receive training at some point; they probably also receive communications from the parish as to what their schedule is. Can you convince the pastor to inform them that holy Communion under only one species (consecrated wine) is licit and necessary?

See the letter of Cardinal Ratzinger to all Episcopal Conferences, 2003:

"B. Communion under one species or with a minimal amount of wine
"1. A layperson affected by celiac disease, who is not able to receive Communion under the species of bread, including low-gluten hosts, may receive Communion under the species of wine only."

This ruling would apply even if the reason for not receiving the Eucharist under the species of bread is not celiac disease, but some other condition that prevents consumption of wheat bread.
Ron Conte
Roman Catholic theologian
Reply With Quote