CatholicPlanet.Net discussion group  

Go Back   CatholicPlanet.Net discussion group > Ecumenism > Other Religions/Spirituality
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 3rd April 2008, 02:00 AM
Nachete

Default mysticism in tother religions

Long time ago I though that Christian mystics where one of the proofs that Catholic theachings are true. However, I was perhaps too ignorant. I came to know other kinds of spiritualism, and after researching a lot, I came to the conclusion that there're mystics in almost everyreligion. They use though different techniques to achieve that mystic state of union with "the Absolute". This is specially true in Sufism (islam), hinduism and Buddism (yogic meditation)

I'm not an expert so I don't know what conclussions should be extracted. I think all feel the same experience, but they explain it according to their own tradition. What most disturbs me is that they seem to show what at least could be called preternatural fenomena, if not supernatural, (visions and levitation being the most common things), healing, etc. I've even read about sufists experiencing Muhammad's war wounds (I haven't contrasted this). Some conclude that it's due to the power of the mind (parapsicologists), leaving no ground for God and graces. Other say, following oriental spiritualism that God is all and we can find our own divinity through those techiniques of mediditation and holiness.

Assuming that God cannot contradict Himself, real miracles can only testify to the True Faith. What (theological, at least) explanation can we give to those (mystical) phenomena?
Old 3rd April 2008, 11:16 AM
Administrator

Preternatural phenomena are, by definition, from angels, not from God. So some of these phenomena could be from fallen angels (levitation, seemingly mystical experiences, false stigmata, etc.).